Stanwood Camano Historic Sites Tour

September 20th & 21st, 2019

Historic Sites

The following Stanwood and Camano Island historic sites are participating in the 2019 Tour:

Stanwood I.O.O.F. Public Hall – 1902

27130 102nd Ave NW, Stanwood
Open Wed & Fri, 1pm – 4pm, & special events
sahs-fncc.org

The Floyd Norgaard Cultural Center is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was restored in 2003 by the Stanwood Area Historical Society to host music, arts, cultural and family events, as it once did in the early 1990s.

D.O. Pearson House – 1890

27108 102nd Ave NW, Stanwood

The D.O. Pearson House belonged to the first mayor of Stanwood. He arrived in the area when it was still called Centreville and built the town’s first general store in 1877. He built a wharf to make it possible for steamboats to dock along the Stillaquamish River waterfront. Pearson became the sixth Postmaster in seven years, changing the town’s postal designation to a less commonly used name of Stanwood, the maiden name of his wife Clara. The house was built in 1890 and was placed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places in 1973. It is a three-story Second Empire Victorian style.

S.A. Thompson House – 1900

The S.A. Thompson House, now known as The Stanwood House, was built sometime between 1900 and 1908. The house is a two-story hipped roof colonial with full front and side porches. Windows are four-paned double hung style. Porch supports had decorative brackets and cresting.

Sons of Norway – 1914

9910 270th st NW, Stanwood

The Sons of Norway was organized in Stanwood in 1910 and they made their home at the I.O.O.F. Public Hall until they bought the S.A. Thompson Hall in 1914 and moved it across the street to the present location.

Josephine Old People’s Home – 1908

9901 272nd Place NW, Stanwood

The Josephine Old People’s Home was built in 1908 on ten acres donated in the form of a warranty deed to the Lutheran Church. It was dedicated in honor of John Hals beloved wife, Josephine, to preserve her memory after her unexpected death.

City Hall – 1936

10220 270th St NW, Stanwood

Stanwood’s City Hall was built in 1936 and much of the labor was provided by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), with well-tended shrubbery to enhance its lines and handsome light standards.

People’s Union Hall – 1904

8715 271st St NW, Stanwood

The People’s Union Hall, now known as The Granary building, near the depot was dedicated in 1904 amid much fanfare and a cooperative store was established. A few years later, the townsite of East Stanwood was platted.

Town Hall – 1940

26921 88th Ave NW, Stanwood

The Town Hall for East Stanwood was dedicated on December 21, 1940. It was built through the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and in 1960 when Stanwood and East Stanwood consolidated it was sold to the Frank Hancock Post 92, American Legion.

Camano Lutheran Church

Camano Lutheran Church – 1906

850 Heichel Rd, Camano Island
Open Sundays
camanolutheranchurch.org

Established in 1890 in Utsalady. In 1895 services were held at the Livingston Bay school, which was located across the road. It was moved to this site and is now Pioneer Hall. Construction of this church began in 1904 and the dedication was July 9, 1906. Listed on the Washington Heritage Register.

Camano Lutheran Cemetery

Camano Lutheran Cemetery – 1921

East Camano Drive, Camano Island
Open daily dawn to dusk

Camano Lutheran Church purchased this land on May 2, 1921 for $125. Records of burials begin as early as 1909. Most Camano Island pioneer families are represented at this cemetery. All are welcome here to reflect on the lives of those who shared this island before us.

Kristoferson Farm – 1912

332 North East Camano Dr, Camano Island
Open daily
kristofersonfarm.com

The barn was built in 1914 from Douglas Fir milled on site. Kristoferson Barn has been the hub of farm operations for the Kristoferson family for over 100 years. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2012.

Barnum Point, Camano Island

Barnum Point

South end of Sunrise Rd, Camano Island
Open daily dawn to dusk

This unspoiled beach is as wild as it was a hundred years ago. Work is going on to make more and more of it available to the public.

South Camano Grange – 1930

2227 South Camano Dr., Camano Island
Open for special events

South Camano Grange #930 was organized January 18, 1930 by O.C. Wisner. It is a family-friendly organization that promotes family values. Service to the community is the backbone of the Grange.

Camano Island State Park – 1949

2269 Lowell Point Rd, Camano Island
Open daily dawn to dusk
www.parks.state.wa.us/484/CamanoIsland

A community initiated and supported park. In 1949, ninety-two acres of land was acquired for a park. The initial development was accomplished in one day by nearly 500 public spirited volunteers from Stanwood and Camano Island.

Cama Beach State Park – 1934

1880 South West Camano Dr, Camano Island
Open daily dawn to dusk
www.parks.state.wa.us/483/Cama-Beach

Cama Beach was a 1930s-era fishing resort complete with waterfront cedar cabins and bungalows. Muriel and Lee Risk operated Cama Beach Resort for 55 years. In 1990, the Risk daughters acted to turn the property into a state park. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.

Camano City Schoolhouse – 1906

993 Orchid Rd, Camano Island
Open for special events
camanoschoolhouse.com

Built in 1906, this one room schoolhouse served students of the rapidly growing mill town of Camano City. It was used as a school until 1936. Then it served as a community hall, home to the Fire Department and Sparklers auxiliary. It was sold in 2012 to the Camano Schoolhouse Foundation. Listed on the Washington Heritage Register in 2014.

American Legion Post 207 – 1949

West Camano Dr, Camano Island
Open for special events

The Camano Island American Legion was founded in 1949. According to members, they met in the South Camano Grange Hall for a time prior to purchasing the “old mattress factory” on the Camano City Road north of Camp Pleasant.

Utsalady Historic Vista Point

398 Shore Dr.
Open daily dawn to dusk
www.islandcountywa.gov (parks & trails)

Ship spars were first cut here in 1853. A lumber mill was built in 1856, beginning production in 1857. The town boomed with Camano’s first school. Lumber was exported in 1860. By 1893, sailing ships carried daily production of 74,000 bd/ft to world markets.

Utsalady Ladies Aid – 1906

79 Utsalady Rd, Camano Island
Open for special events
utsaladyladiesaid.org

Utsalady Ladies Aid was founded in 1908. It is the second oldest organization in Island County. The building was constructed in 1923 for $566.73. It is a symbol of community spirit and unity for those living on Camano Island. Listed on WA Heritage & National Registers of Historic Places since 1998.

Pioneer Cemetery

557 East North Camano Dr, Camano Island
Open daily dawn to dusk

Camano Island’s early settlers and some Native Americans are buried here.

English Boom - Camano Island, WA

English Boom

North end of Moore Rd
Open daily dawn to dusk

The English Logging Co. logged forests east of Stanwood and Mount Vernon in the 1920’s and 30’s. Here they gathered logs into booms for towing to Puget Sound mills. Pilings are all that remain from the operation which closed in 1945.